Le Crete Senesi

The Crete Senesi area extends South-East of Siena and includes the municipalities of Trequanda, Montalcino, Buonconvento, Asciano, Monteroni d’Arbia and Rapolano Terme.

The name Crete Senesi cames from the clay present in the soil that gives the landscape a characteristic blue-gray color often referred to as lunar.

Another typical conformation of this area are the gullies, the crags and the biancane that extend into the semi-arid areas of this territory known as the Accona Desert.

The landscape is formed by a succession of hills that recall the undulatory movement of the sea, interspersed with isolated oaks and cypresses that alternate with farms on the heights of the hills, stretches of wood and valleys that welcome the famous fontoni of the reservoirs to collect water rain.

In addition to the many typical villages, the Abbey of Monte Oliveto Maggiore, founded in the fourteenth century on the initiative of San Bernardo Tolomei, is certainly worth a visit in the Crete Senesi area.